# 2023 Small Businessperson Award





## **Purpose**

To recognize a small business owner who exemplifies professionalism, strives to enhance our community, and has made a positive impact on the local economy.

### **Selection Criteria**

- 1. Fewer than 50 employees and in business for at least 5 years.
- 2. A person who is a leader in the Florence business community and has demonstrated dedication to overcome the adversities of a small business.
- 3. A person who has made a positive economic impact in the Pee Dee area.

#### **Eligibility**

Any member of the Greater Florence Chamber of Commerce associated with a sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, or professional practice in the Greater Florence area is eligible for nomination. Elected officials, employees of government and not-for-profit organizations are ineligible unless they are also involved in a for- profit business and meet the other eligibility requirements.

## **Recipient Honors**

The recipient will receive a plaque to be displayed at the recipient's place of business. The Small Businessperson of the Year will be announced at the Chamber's Outlook Luncheon scheduled on March 22, 2023, at the Florence Center.

## Past Recipients

- 2002 R. Austin Gilbert, Jr., Gilbert Construction
- 2003 Doris B. Lockhart, AccuStaff/Randstat Inc.
- 2004 Patricia & Steve Tiara, Mary's Flowers & Gifts
- 2005 Ken Gunter, FBi Construction
- 2006 April & Kelvin Locklear, K & L Chrome Shop
- 2007 Starlee Alexander, State Farm Insurance
- 2008 Walton & Richard Sprawls, Creel Tire
- 2009 Steve Powers, S/W Printing
- 2010 Robby Hill, HillSouth, Inc.
- 2011 Warren Snell, Fatz
- 2012 Lee Freeman, Print Image Solutions
- 2013 Elaine Dean, Bravo! Event and Party Rentals
- 2014 David Pate, Chick-fil-A
- 2015 Ellen Cooke, Freeman's Bakery
- 2016 Reginald Armstrong, Armstrong Wealth Management Group
- 2017 Wendell E. Jones, Jr., Edward Jones
- 2018 Irby Wilson, Orr Company
- 2019 Blake Pate, Chick-Fil-A
- 2020 Drew Chaplin, Palmetto Commercial Real Estate
- 2021 Dr. Leslie Kirby, Lifetime Hearing Services, Inc.
- 2022 Diana Murphy Eaddy, Diversity Works Magazine